Live post: Reading Half-Marathon (pre-race)

20140302-092705.jpgMorning all.

It’s 8:45am and I’m standing in the race village, killing an hour or so until the start of the 2014 Mizuno Reading Half Marathon. It’s cold and I can’t stop weeing. I’ve also got coffee, which will sort out problem 1, while elevating problem 2 to apocalyptic levels.

I’ve just seen someone dressed as Nemo from “Finding Nemo”. He doesn’t know it yet, but he will be my arbitrary nemesis for the day.

One of the things I love about this pre-race bit is people-watching my fellow runners. I learned long ago that I’ll beat some of those who look like speedy elite racing-snakes, while getting my arse handed to me by others who, on the surface, appear to be as fit as a chain-smoking pie-addict. The only guarantee at these things, is any bloke in his 60’s wearing baggy Ron Hill tracksters and a faded rugby shirt, who will ALWAYS be faster than a speeding bullet.

Anyway, it’s nearly time to meet up with my Write This Run team-mates.

Wish us luck!

J

2 thoughts on “Live post: Reading Half-Marathon (pre-race)

  1. Good luck Jay! Beat that fish!

    Actually, that sounds a bit odd now that I’ve typed it – I mean “contest the run gallantly against the cartoon character inspired costume person”.

    You’re right about the older chaps in Tracksters – if he’s got mutton chops too he’ll likely win.

    Looking forward to the post-run write up already.

Leave a Reply

