B2P Q&A: Sarah Marsden (GoldilocksRuns)

“You won’t believe anyone who says it yet, but it does get easier!”

 

 

20130115-125454.jpg

This week I speak to Sarah, who writes the blog Goldilocks Running, and who can be found spreading positivity and runningness (real word) on twitter as @goldilocksruns.

 

Jay on Sarah

A wee bundle of effervescent charm with an insatiable penchant for porridge; I started chatting to Sarah on the twitter a while back, and it quickly became clear that we shared a similar outlook on why running is so bloody great. But those similarities skyrocketed when I saw this list she’d made prior to a race and realised it wasn’t just me who let these silly neuroses interfere with my running…

20130115-125743.jpg
Sarah has her first marathon coming up this year, and is juggling running* with studying to be a top doctor like off of the telly.

Sarah on Sarah

I’m Sarah! I run, write about running and around all of that am a student doctor. Was there ever a more perfect recipe for a hypochondriac? After taking up running in April 2012, I’m making my first foray into marathon running in April 2013 and am wildly excited about the carb consumption that’s going to happen!

The Big 12…

1. Which actor would portray you in a movie of your running life? (If someone’s already made a movie of your running life, you can skip this question).

Scarlett Johansson. A girl can dream.

 

2. What’s the one song that never fails to give you a mid-run boost?

It’s a predictable choice, but One Day Like This by Elbow never fails to give me a boost, especially if coupled with some nice scenery. It’s a song I’ve always turned to when I’m about to attempt something epic like getting into medical school or passing my end of year exams, and the hardest miles of a long run are no different for me!

3. In 12 words or less, explain why people should read your blog. You can double up to 24 words, as long as one of them is “octopus”.

If you want a glamorous portrayal of running, mine’s probably not the one. If you want silliness and honesty, head on over!

…octopus.

 

4. Why did you start running?

During my second year of medical school, I lived with seven sporty people, and it eventually rubbed off. I felt a bit ashamed of how unfit I was, so I started a couch to 5K plan on the gym treadmill alongside other exercise, and got hooked! Once I headed outside for my first run, I loved it, and started wanting to run further and faster…

5. Why do you keep running?

I keep running because I love it. Simple as. I’d also be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy being able to eat Man vs Food-esque amounts of food without gaining weight.

6. Running’s nice, isn’t it?

I agree with Liz here, nice is too bland a word to use for running. It’s awesome! It’s also inviting to people like me, who have no known hand-eye co-ordination.

7. What’s the best goodie bag you ever received?

Having only done two big races, my experience is sadly not great here. Neither were giving out goodie bags! Here’s hoping for my next race 😉

8. Still on the subject of goodie bags, imagine you’re a race director with an unlimited budget; what five items would you put in the ultimate goodie bag.

A lifetime of training with Liz Yelling.

Free race entry and travel FOREVER.

A pair of running shoes that never need replacing and prevent all injuries.

A personal masseuse.

A lifetime’s supply of energy gels.

9. Favourite place to run?

Around the lovely Lancashire countryside near Blackpool.

10. A law is passed that states all runners must have a nickname, like Caballo Blanco or Alan “the Turtle” Winthorpe. What’s yours?

Goldilocks! With hair as blonde as mine and such a porridge obsession, it’s the only choice…

11. If you had a time machine and could go back to when you first started running, what advice would you give your younger self? It’s a special running-themed time machine, so you can only offer words of wisdom that are directly related to running. That means no lottery numbers or warnings of “whatever you do, don’t trust that cheese monger”.

My advice would be: keep going through that initial phase of your lungs burning and your legs feeling like lead. You won’t believe anyone who says it yet, but it does get easier! Also, stop trying to run through knee pain in those trainers you bought in a sale and go for a shoe fitting. Your legs and feet will thank you in the long term.

12. How are you today?

Sleepy but still smiling after a good run.

Follow Sarah on twitter: @Goldilocksruns and have a good old look at her blog here: http://www.goldilocksrunning.blogspot.co.uk/. Also, if you’re anywhere near the Brighton Marathon in April, look out for her and cheer her on the way to her 3.45 goal.

You already know where my blog is, because you’re reading it, but if you fancy a condensed version of my nonsense (maybe 140 characters of less, just to pick a number completely at random) head over to twitter and follow @borntoplodblog. LoveYouByyyyyyye!

;

* By which I mean she’s fitting both into a hectic lifestyle. I didn’t mean actually juggling while running, although that would be pretty awesome.
2 thoughts on “B2P Q&A: Sarah Marsden (GoldilocksRuns)

Leave a Reply

